Endangered Languages Project

Ein Projekt zur Unterstützung der Erhaltung und Dokumentation von Sprachen auf der ganzen Welt

Endangered Languages Project

Die Menschheit sieht sich heutzutage einem enormen Sprachensterben gegenüber, die Sprachen verschwinden schneller als je zuvor. Dabei geht jedes Mal eine einzigartige Sichtweise auf die Welt verloren. Mit jeder Sprache, die verschwindet, geht ein großes kulturelles Erbe, ein Stück Verständnis, wie die Menschen auf der Welt zueinander in Beziehung stehen sowie wissenschaftliches, medizinisches und botanisches Wissen verloren. Und was ganz wichtig ist: es geht verloren, wie diese Gemeinschaften Humor, Liebe und Leben ausdrücken. Kurz gesagt, wir verlieren das Zeugnis von Jahrhunderten des Lebens.

Sprachen sind lebendig und ständig in Bewegung und dass manchmal eine Sprache verschwindet, ist nicht neu. Heutzutage jedoch verschwinden Sprachen schneller als jemals zuvor und das ist alarmierend. Über 40 percent der ungefähr 7.000 Sprachen weltweit droht auszusterben. Heutzutage stehen uns jedoch Werkzeuge und Technologien zur Verfügung, die das verhindern könnten.

Das Endangered Languages Project stellt Technologie Organisationen und Privatpersonen zur Verfügung, die der Bedrohung von Sprachen entgegenwirken möchten, indem sie die Sprachen dokumentieren, schützen und weitergeben. Durch diese Website haben Nutzer nicht nur Zugriff auf die aktuellsten und umfassendsten Informationen zu bedrohten Sprachen und von Partnern gelieferte Beispiele, sondern übernehmen auch eine aktive Rolle dabei, ihre Sprachen online zu stellen, indem sie Informationen oder Beispiele in Form von Text-, Audio- oder Video-Dateien einreichen. Außerdem können Nutzer in einem Bereich zum Wissensaustausch und durch Teilnahme an entsprechenden Google Groups sogenannte "Best Practices" und Fallstudien teilen.

Google oversaw the development and launch of this project with the long term goal for it to be led by true experts in the field of language preservation. As such, oversight of the project transitioned to First Peoples' Cultural Council and the Institute for Language Information and Technology at Eastern Michigan University. The project is now managed by First Peoples' Cultural Council and the Endangered Languages Catalogue/Endangered Languages Project (ELCat/ELP) team at University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa in coordination with the Governance Council.

Diese Website wurde mit Hilfe von Vizzuality designt und entwickelt.

Über die Sprachinformationen auf dieser Website

Die in diesem Projekt vorgestellten Sprachen und die dazugehörigen Informationen stammen aus dem Catalogue of Endangered Languages (ELCat) der University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa und dem Eastern Michigan University mit finanzieller Unterstützung der U.S. National Science Foundation (Grants #1058096 und #1057725) und der Luce Foundation, sowie der Unterstützung von einem globalen Expertenteam.

ELCat wird über diese Website geteilt, so dass Feedback von Sprachgemeinschaften und Wissenschaftlern weltweit aufgenommen werden kann, um das Wissen der Welt über die gefährdeten Sprachen zu aktualisieren. Das bedeutet, dass die auf dieser Website enthaltenen Sprachen und die über sie präsentierten Informationen im Laufe der Zeit geändert werden sollen.

Weitere Informationen:
About the Catalogue of Endangered Languages
About Why Endangered Languages are So Important
About Silent Tongues: Language Dormancy

Über die Alliance for Linguistic Diversity

Dieses Projekt wäre ohne die Zusammenarbeit von Gruppen auf der ganzen Welt, die dazu beigetragen haben, es ins Leben zu rufen, nicht möglich gewesen. Die Alliance for Linguistic Diversity wurde im Rahmen des Endangered Languages Project gegründet. Ihre Mission ist es, die Bemühungen rund um die Dokumentation bedrohter Sprachen anzustoßen, zu forcieren und zu stärken, Sprachgemeinschaften beim Schutz und bei der Wiederbelebung ihrer Sprachen zu unterstützen und das Bewusstsein für Möglichkeiten zum Entgegenwirken der Bedrohungen für diese Sprachen zu stärken. Falls Ihre Organisation einen Beitrag zu diesen gemeinsamen Bemühungen für bedrohte Sprachen leisten möchte, können Sie jederzeit die Mitgliedschaft in der Alliance beantragen.

Gründungsmitglieder

  • Alaska Native Language Archive
  • Asociación Cultural Parola
  • Association for Cultural Equity
  • CBC Radio
  • Center for American Indian Languages
  • Coushatta Tribe of Louisiana
  • Endangered Language Alliance
  • First Peoples’ Cultural Council
  • Grassroots Indigenous Multimedia
  • Indigenous Language Institute
  • Laboratório de Linguas Indígenas, Universidade de Brasília
  • Living Tongues Institute for Endangered Languages
  • Mohawk Council of Akwesasne
  • Museum of the Cherokee Indian
  • National Folklore Support Centre
  • PanLex (The Long Now Foundation)
  • Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians
  • The Chontal Project in the DoBeS Archive
  • The DoBES Project on Taa
  • The Endangered Languages Catalogue team at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
  • The John Carter Brown Library at Brown University
  • The Language Archive at the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics
  • The LINGUIST List
  • The Myaamia Project
  • The Rosetta Project (The Long Now Foundation)
  • Transparent Language, Inc.
  • UCLA Phonetics Laboratory
  • University of Pennsylvania Libraries
  • World Oral Literature Project

Auf dieser Seite können Sie direkt an dem Projekt mitwirken. Bitte füllen Sie dieses Formular aus, wenn Sie wichtige Zusammenarbeitsvorschläge einbringen möchten. Wenn Sie Moderator für gemeldete Inhalte werden möchten, können Sie sich über dieses Formular bewerben. Beachten Sie jedoch, dass wir nicht auf alle Anfragen antworten und keine Förderungsanträge entgegennehmen können.

Governance Council des Endangered Languages Projekts

Das Projekt wird von einem aktiven Governance Council, dem Advisory Committee, geleitet, das unterschiedlichste Perspektiven, Talente und Engagements für das Projekt zusammenführt. Eine Mitgliedschaft ist nur nach einer entsprechenden Einladung möglich. Aktuelle Mitglieder sind:

  • Faith Baisden, First Languages Australia
  • Lyle Campbell, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Craig Cornelius, Google, Inc.
  • Tracey Herbert, First Peoples' Cultural Council
  • Veronica Grondona, Eastern Michigan University
  • Daniel Kaufman, Endangered Language Alliance
  • Mary S. Linn, Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage, Smithsonian Institution
  • Kevin Lowe, First Languages Australia
  • Paul Trilsbeek, The Language Archive at the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics
  • Inee Slaughter, Indigenous Language Institute
  • Emmanuel Ngué Um, Archive of Languages and Oral Resources of Africa


Mitglider der Alliance Advisory Committee:

  • Gregory Anderson, Living Tongues Institute for Endangered Languages
  • Daryl Baldwin, Myaamia Centre
  • Peter Brand, First Peoples’ Cultural Council
  • Panchanan Mohanty, University of Hyderabad
  • Susan Penfield, University of Arizona
  • Andrew Strack, Myaamia Centre
  • Mark Turin, World Oral Literature Project

Inhaltsrichtlinien

Ziel des Endangered Languages Projekts ist es, den Austausch von Informationen zu gefährdeten Sprachen zu unterstützen. Bitte denken Sie an dieses Ziel, wenn Sie Inhalte für die Seite einreichen. Wenn Moderatoren Inhalte als nicht mit diesem Ziel im Einklang stehend bewerten, werden sie gelöscht.

Sie allein sind verantwortlich für Ihre eigenen Inhalte und Sie müssen sich der Konsequenzen bewusst sein, wenn Sie Inhalte für das Endangered Languages Projekt einreichen. Laden Sie nur Inhalte auf der Webseite hoch, für die Sie die nötigen Lizenzen oder Rechte haben oder für die Sie Zustimmung oder Erlaubnis eingeholt haben.

Bitte laden Sie nur Inhalte hoch, deren Veröffentlichung angemessen ist. Als heilig geltende Inhalte oder andere Inhalte, welche die Sprecher der Sprache nicht teilen möchten, sollten nicht hochgeladen werden. Wenn andere Personen in Ihrem Video auftauchen, stellen Sie bitte sicher, dass diese ausreichend informiert wurden und einer Veröffentlichung des Videos im Internet zugestimmt haben. Weitere Informationen finden Sie im Ethikleitfaden der American Anthropological Association.

Die meisten Inhalte, die auf der Webseite des Endangered Languages Projekts hochgeladen wurden, sind auch auf anderen Platformen von Google verfügbar. Darunter sind zum Beispiel: YouTube, Picasa and Google Docs. Jedes Produkt hat seine eigenen Nutzungsbedingungen und Inhaltsrichtlinien. Darüber hinaus müssen all diese Inhalte mit den Nutzungsbedingunen der entsprechenden Google-Produkte im Einklang stehen. Diese Bedingungen verbieten unter Anderem pornographische, obszöne, pädophile, sodomitische und andere eindeutig sexuelle Inhalte. Hassschürende oder gewalttätige, belästigende Inhalte oder Inhalte die die Privatsphäre Anderer verletzen sind ebenfalls untersagt.

Das Endangered Languages Projekt darf nicht für gesetzeswidrige Absichten oder für die Förderung von gefährlichen und illegalen Aktivitäten genutzt werden.

Spamming sowie die Verbreitung von Malware oder Viren ist verboten.

Kommentare hinzufügen

Das Endangered Languages Projekt soll als kollaboratives Netzwerk für den Austausch von Informationen dienen. Aus diesem Grund sind Feedback und Kommentare zu den Inhalten der Seite sehr willkommen. Wenn Sie Kommentare zu Inhalten der Webseite posten, halten Sie sich bitte an folgende Richtlinien:

  • Kommentare müssen lesbar sein. Achten Sie auf richtige Grammatik und prüfen Sie Ihre Rechtschreibung. Bitte benutzen Sie keine übermäßige Großschreibung oder Zeichensetzung.
  • Bitte tragen Sie nur nützliche Kommentare bei. Posten Sie eindeutige, nützliche und korrekte Informationen.
  • Seien Sie höflich. Greifen Sie keine anderen Nutzer an und posten Sie keine Inhalte, die beleidigend, hassschürend, bedrohend oder belästigend sind.
  • Kommentare, die nicht zum Thema Sprachen passen oder gegen diese Regeln verstoßen, werden gelöscht.
Inhalte melden

Falls Sie Inhalte finden, die Ihrer Meinung nach diese Richtlinien missachten, folgen Sie bitte den Anweisungen zum Melden von Inhalten.

The Endangered Languages Project

A project to support language preservation and documentation around the world

About the Endangered Languages Project

Humanity today is facing a massive extinction: languages are disappearing at an unprecedented pace. And when that happens, a unique vision of the world is lost. With every language that dies we lose an enormous cultural heritage; the understanding of how humans relate to the world around us; scientific, medical and botanical knowledge; and most importantly, we lose the expression of communities’ humor, love and life. In short, we lose the testimony of centuries of life.

Languages are entities that are alive and in constant flux, and their extinction is not new; however, the pace at which languages are disappearing today has no precedent and is alarming. Over 40 percent of the world’s approximate 7,000 languages are at risk of disappearing. But today we have tools and technology at our fingertips that could become a game changer.

The Endangered Languages Project puts technology at the service of the organizations and individuals working to confront the language endangerment by documenting, preserving and teaching them. Through this website, users can not only access the most up to date and comprehensive information on endangered languages as well as language resources being provided by partners, but also play an active role in putting their languages online by submitting information or samples in the form of text, audio or video files. In addition, users will be able to share best practices and case studies through a knowledge sharing section and through joining relevant Google Groups.

Google oversaw the development and launch of this project with the long term goal for it to be led by true experts in the field of language preservation. As such, oversight of the project transitioned to First Peoples' Cultural Council and the Institute for Language Information and Technology at Eastern Michigan University. The project is now managed by First Peoples' Cultural Council and the Endangered Languages Catalogue/Endangered Languages Project (ELCat/ELP) team at University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa in coordination with the Governance Council.

This website was designed and developed with the help of Vizzuality and Exygy.

About the language information on this site

The languages included in this project and the information displayed about them are provided by the Catalogue of Endangered Languages (ELCat), produced by the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa and Eastern Michigan University, with funding provided by the U.S. National Science Foundation (Grants #1058096 and #1057725) and the Luce Foundation, and supported by a team of global experts.

ELCat is being shared through this site so that feedback from language communities and scholars worldwide can be incorporated to update the world’s knowledge about its most at-risk languages. This means that the languages included on this site and the information presented about them is intended to change over time.

More information:
About the Catalogue of Endangered Languages
About Why Endangered Languages are So Important
About Silent Tongues: Language Dormancy

The Endangered Languages Project Governance Council

This project is being guided by an active Governance Council and Advisory Committee that bring diverse perspectives, talents and commitments to the project. Membership is by invitation only. Current Governance Council members are:

  • Faith Baisden, First Languages Australia
  • Lyle Campbell, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Craig Cornelius, Google, Inc.
  • Tracey Herbert, First Peoples' Cultural Council
  • Gary Holton, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Veronica Grondona, Eastern Michigan University
  • Daniel Kaufman, Endangered Language Alliance
  • Mary S. Linn, Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage, Smithsonian Institution
  • Oliver Loode, Uralic Centre for Indigenous Peoples
  • Kevin Lowe, Australian Indigenous Languages Institute
  • Emmanuel Ngué Um, Archive of Languages and Oral Resources of Africa


Current Advisory Committee members are:

  • Gregory Anderson, Living Tongues Institute for Endangered Languages
  • Daryl Baldwin, Myaamia Centre
  • Peter Brand, First Peoples’ Cultural Council
  • Panchanan Mohanty, University of Hyderabad
  • Susan Penfield, University of Arizona
  • Inee Slaughter, Indigenous Language Institute
  • Andrew Strack, Myaamia Centre
  • Mark Turin, World Oral Literature Project

This site is designed to enable you to contribute to the project directly. Although we will not be able to respond to all inquiries and are not accepting requests for funding, you can propose significant collaboration opportunities by completing this form, or apply to become a moderator of flagged content through this form.

Content Guidelines

The goal of the Endangered Languages Project is to foster exchange of information related to at-risk languages. Please keep this purpose in mind when submitting content to the site. Any content deemed by moderators to be not in line with this goal may be removed.

You shall be solely responsible for your own content and the consequences of submitting it to the Endangered Languages Project. Only upload content for which you have the necessary licenses, rights, consents and permissions to publish on the site.

Please only include material that is appropriate to be shared openly online. Sacred material or other content that language speakers would not want shared should not be uploaded. If your video includes others, please make sure all speakers are properly informed and consent to the video being shared on the Internet. For reference, please review the Code of Ethics of the American Anthropological Association and the Code of Ethics of the Linguistic Society of America.

Most content uploaded to the Endangered Languages Project is hosted on several associated Google products or services, including YouTube, Picasa and Google Docs. Each of these services has their own product policies and content guidelines. In addition to these terms, all content submitted through other Google products or services must be in accordance with their associated terms. These include but are not limited to: a prohibition on content containing pornography, obscenity, pedophilia, bestiality or other sexually explicit material; hateful or violent content; harassing content or content that infringes another’s privacy.

The Endangered Languages Project must not be used for unlawful purposes or for promotion of dangerous and illegal activities. Advertising and use of the website and its resources for commercial purposes is not allowed.

We do not allow spamming or transmitting malware and viruses.

Submitting Comments

The Endangered Languages Project is designed to be a collaborative space for information sharing. For this reason comments and feedback are welcome on site content. When making comments on content displayed on the Endangered Languages Project site please abide by the following guidelines:

  • Keep comments readable. Use proper grammar and check your spelling. Don't use excessive capitalization and punctuation.
  • Make comments useful. Post clear, valuable, and truthful information.
  • Be polite. Don't attack others or post content that is abusive, hateful, threatening, or harassing.
  • Comments deemed to be off-topic or otherwise against these policies will be removed.
Reporting Content

If you find content you believe to be in violation of these guidelines please follow the flagging instructions to report the content for review.